Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Winners

News & Events

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Winners
December 17, 2012

A new commemorative medal was created to mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne, and to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians.

The Governor General’s office requested the Canadian Association of the Deaf – Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC) to nominate up to 30 Canadians to receive the award in recognition of their contributions and activities that have had a significant impact on the local, provincial, and/or national level, and that have increased the knowledge and practice of values, rights, and responsibilities and promoted the increased participation of Deaf persons in the community.

The CAD-ASC is proud to award the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals to the following people:

British Columbia

  • Leanor Vlug
  • Mary Hargreaves
  • Wayne Sinclair


  • Linda Cundy
  • Jonathan Guinta
  • Grant Underschultz


  • Roger Carver
  • Allard Thomas


  • Jean Heath
  • Bruce Koskie
  • Doug Momotiuk
  • Sheila Montney
  • Aaron Montney


  • Clifton Carbin
  • Frank Folino
  • Marie-Josee Blier
  • Gary Malkowski
  • Helen Pizzacalla
  • Jim Roots


  • Alice Dulude
  • Michel Lelievre
  • Michel Turgeon
  • Pamela Witcher

New Brunswick

  • Kathern Lawrence
  • Chrissy Montgomery

Nova Scotia

  • Brian Foran
  • Leanne Gallant
  • Betty Macdonald

Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Bryan Johnson
  • Myles Murphy

Congratulations to the recipients — wave big hands!